By Pro Sports Outlook, The Front Office for Fans
Oct 26, 2019

‘Today in Sports’ is a continuously updated daily article showcasing the real headlines only (none of the noise), all of the top highlights, interesting facts from around the NFL, NBA, & MLB, as well as the main games worth watching, the best performances of the day (posted at the end of the day), significant birthdays, and a quick recap of notable events on this day in sports history. 

Bregman leads HOU to G4 victory

Trae Young stepback dagger

DeRozan making some posters

Dejounte Murray’s tough AND-1

RJ Barrett’s baseline slam

IT’s 1st points in DC

OG swats him at the rim

Saints made a statement in Week 7

Corbin’s slider is LETHAL

[See More]


[Player of the Day] SP Jose Urquidy, HOU (@WAS): 5 IP, 0 ER, 2 H, 4 K, 0 BB; 1st postseason start was scoreless

3B Alex Bregman, HOU (@WAS): 3-5, 1 HR, 5 RBI, 1 R, incl. Grand Slam

C Robinson Chirinos, HOU (@WAS): 2-5, 1 HR, 2 RBI, 1 R



PG Trae Young, ATL (v.ORL): 39 PTS (16-25 FG), 9 AST, 7 REB, 2 STL, 5 TOV

F Giannis Antetokounmpo, MIL (v.MIA): 29 PTS (12-21 FG), 17 REB, 9 AST, 3 STL, 2 BLK, 8 TOV

PG Russell Westbrook, HOU (v.NOP): 28 PTS (9-17 FG), 13 AST, 10 REB, 4 TOV 

NFL: CB Dre Kirkpatrick, Cincinnati Bengals (30)

NFL: P Marquette King, Free Agent (31)

NBA: SG Monta Ellis, Retired in 2017 (34)

MLB: RP Francisco Liriano, Pittsburgh Pirates (36)

2018: The Dodgers beat the Red Sox 3-2 on a walk-off home run from Max Muncy in the 18th inning, the longest World Series game ever

2000: The Yankees beat the Mets 4-2 to win the “Subway Series” in five games, their third consecutive World Series

1998: Mets catcher Mike Piazza signed the richest contract in MLB history at the time: 7y/$91 million 

1997: The Florida Marlins won Game 7 of the World Series over the Indians by a score of 3-2 in 11 innings to capture their first championship

1993: The NFL officially announced its first expansion team since 1976, the Carolina Panthers (29th team overall)

1982: Steve Carlton became the first in MLB history to win 4 Cy Young Awards

1980: The St. Louis Cardinals defense tortured quarterback Bert Jones and the Baltimore Colts offensive line for an NFL-record 12 sacks

1960: The AL’s Washington Senators officially moved to Minnesota to become the Twins

[See More Today in Sports]

Like this article? Share with friends!

Latest Posts